I honestly didn’t think that blogging would be my thing or that it would be useful. I have to admit that I was wrong. I’ve actually enjoyed writing down my thoughts and hunting for the most appropriate visual aids. (Just for you Manpreet).
Overall I’ve enjoyed the module. I don’t necessarily feel that I learned much but the things that I did learn will be useful in the future. I’ve been asked to write a blog, create and maintain a social networking page and Tweet for a company starting in September so it’s all been worthwhile.
The things that I didn’t like are the things that everyone moans about............group work and the amount of time we had to spend on course work.
There was lots of group work in this module which strangely the lecturers didn’t think there was. As I’ve said before I totally accept that it’s a necessary evil but come on...........there must be another way??? Overall my groups have been great. YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE!!!! I’m not going to complain about it. It’s over. I’ve done it. I’ve moved on. When I was asked how much effort people put in, there was no point in being honest. It’s about getting through the module as best you can not about upsetting people.
One of the groups in the other lab put down that one of them did more work than the rest. Why would you do that? It’s about team work!!! How well do you think they worked in a team? Do you think that in the real world that would be acceptable? Come on! Get a grip and grow up! You’re supposed to help each other through this not climb over them or drag them down!
As per usual I took over in any group I was involved with. I honestly try not to but if things aren’t being done, I can't help it! I think some of the class would never have done it even under threat of death! Thankfully not in any of my groups though.
People want to do well but don’t want to put in the effort. For me the module was my best subject. It’s more practical than anything else we do and that suited me perfectly.
I just want to learn something that can make life easier for me. I’m in my element farting about with a wiki but when all the rest of my modules are all expecting their pound of flesh from me it’s really hard to justify the time needed to do the practical work well.
For me, the amount of work that was expected from this module in relation to the rest was really high. You only learn from doing with some things and I really think that less weighting should be given to the report. The module was made up of practical aspects the whole way through and then the report, which is theoretical, was worth 60% of the overall mark??? Eh no. That’s just not right!!!
And another thing. Why was this module in semester 2? The GoogleDocs and wikis would have been so useful for the Strategic Management module in semester 1. It’s so annoying that we could have used social media to help with that module in particular but didn’t know about it.
Without doubt some of what we learned will be used by businesses. Personally I think it’ll take a long time for it to filter through to most businesses in Scotland. It seems to be mainly larger organisations that are using social media, not your average corner shop. Businesses that have older leaders or under 20 staff have not really caught on to social media. They don't seem to have the same concept of how much money they can make.
Alexis asked me early on if I wanted to change to the project management module and I’m glad I didn’t. Even though I haven’t learned as much as I thought I would it has still been interesting. For me the most interesting lectures were the ones at the end about how to implement, regulate social media and possibly most importantly how to use it for marketing.
Businesses need to know what the tools of social media are and how to use them. I’m confident that I can educate them so mission accomplished.
So it’s goodbye to web innovation but that doesn’t mean the end of Crabbit Views just a change of topic.
SORRY!!!!!